Introductions

Hi everyone,

Here marks the start of my blog designed to provide updates for my Bike and Build adventure and beyond.  If you haven’t heard yet, I will be biking 4178 miles across the country this summer for the affordable housing cause with a non-profit organization called Bike and Build (bikeandbuild.org).  To participate, I will need to have fundraised $4,500 by the day of the trip start, June 7.

My motivations to do the trip vary, but start with B&B alumnus and RA extraordinaire and my suitemate Kate Weigel.  Kate only has amazing things to say about her experience with the program and I figured it would be a good way to spend a summer.  As I looked further into the affordable housing movement, which is the cause we will be fundraising for, I realized that I have yet to see and understand how millions of Americans live their lives—on the borderline of homelessness.  This is something that I have fortunately never had to experience personally and as a result I feel a personal responsibility to do what I can for those families that sacrifice unfathomably large portions of their incomes to pay for a roof over their heads.  Housing is something that many of us take for granted, but it truly is the most important foundation for families in order for them to be able to focus on other aspects of their lives, such as education and employment.

People often remark on how difficult they must imagine the bike ride to be, but the part that I am most terrified for is the fundraising.  It’s a really strange concept to me to just ask people (that aren’t my parents…ha) for money, and I expected little to no response.  On the contrary, I’ve found that the most random people, oftentimes strangers, tend to donate in the largest amounts. Donations fluctuate greatly—one door I knocked on gave me $150, another door, $6 in dollar bills.  As of now, I am a little over halfway to $4500, and funds have been flowing in slower so this later push is really crucial.  If you would like to contribute, just go to bikeandbuild.org/donate and select “Lydia Guo” from the drop down menu.  Large contributions are obviously awesome, but it is really the smaller contributions that make this fundraising effort possible.  If you have anything you could spare, it will be a big boost to my campaign:).

Now that my pitch is over, welcome to my new blog!  I will post here for information on new fundraising efforts, how the trip planning is coming along, and ultimately, how the trip is going!  Thank you so much for your support, everyone!

Leave a Reply

